Home Page           Future Events         Results        Links       Search Site        Maps        Images        Contact CofD      Documents
Committee of the Dee          

Aberdeen Club Championships  -  13th October 2012

Ingibjorg Thomsen, Captain of AUBC, receives the Big John trophy from Ron Wallace, Secretary of the Committee of the Dee

Click here for more photographs

A very enjoyable day for everyone and lots of smiling faces during the first Aberdeen Club Championships event.

Congratulations to Colin Wallace for coming up with the idea and Judith Wallace for acting as Regatta Secretary.
There was some anxiety leading up to the event with huge rainfall on Friday making the river unrowable but there always was a 'Plan B' for land-based competition.  In the end, conditions on Saturday were challenging at times with brisk stream and some debris to dodge but were generally dry and windless.

A few racing incidents resulted in Colin having to practice his rescue skills but no serious injuries and the AUBC womens pair were remarkably cheerful after their unplanned early bath!

Towards the end of the day it was AUBC and ABC who were battling it out on the points table and with one event to go, AUBC had a slim lead of only 3 points.  This final event, mens and womens wellie-boot tossing (!), carried a maximum of 8 points so victory hinged on this light-hearted event.  AUBC showed their prowess in tossing and managed to extend their final margin to a total of 6 points.

Results summary
4 points for 1st place, 3 points for 2nd place etc 

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Total
ABC 5 0 3 1 27
ASRA 0 4 3 2 20
AUBC 2 4 3 0 26
RGUBC 2 1 0 6 17
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Total
ABC 1 4 3 1 23
ASRA 3 2 2 2 24
AUBC 5 2 2 0 30
RGUBC 0 1 2 3 10
Club Totals
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Total
ABC 6 4 6 2 50
ASRA 3 6 5 4 44
AUBC 7 6 5 0 56
RGUBC 2 2 2 9 27

Full spreadsheet is available here with individual results and names of competitors. 

Also the  Original Poster  and  Entry Information