Home Page           Future Events         Results        Links       Search Site        Maps        Images        Contact CofD      Documents
Committee of the Dee          

This press release, penned by Terry McNeill, was printed in its entirity in the Aberdeen Evening Express

Records tumble in Aberdeen rowing races

Aberdeen Fours Head (3 November 2001) and Aberdeen Small Boats Head (4 November 2001)

No fewer than 10 new course record times were set in this weekend’s Aberdeen Head of the River Races on the Dee – and there was a record number of entrants for the Small Boats Head on the Sunday for good measure.

The winning crew in the men’s open competition was a composite representing Aberdeen Boat Club and The Robert Gordon University: this is the same crew (Angus Argyle, Andrew Shannon, Tom Morgan, John Langley, cox Ruth Moore) which won for Scotland at the Home International Regatta in the summer, and they started as favourites on Saturday.

First of the record breakers were the men’s junior 18 crew from Aberdeen Schools Rowing Association, with Aberdeen Schools also setting new course records in the men’s and women’s junior 15 events.

Winners of the women’s open event were Aberdeen Boat Club, stroked by Clare Logan, with a new course record going to a combined Aberdeen University/Aberdeen BC women’s restricted 1 crew.

There were numerous successes fro visiting crews also. Glasgow University stormed to victory in men’s restricted 1, while the Glasgow University Ladies club won women’s restricted 2 and novice classes. A very impressive crew from Dundee University won men’s novice.

A record 75 crews raced in Sunday’s Aberdeen Small Boats Head, with racing being particularly busy in the junior classes.

Great Britain team members Jonny Logan (Glasgow University) and Gavin Shaw (Aberdeen University) set a new course record in winning men’s open double sculls – one of 6 news records set on the day. Winners of men’s open pairs were John Langley and Drew Hendry (Aberdeen BC) with women’s open pairs won by Clare Logan and Fiona Insch (Aberdeen BC). Clare Logan also won women’s open single sculls.

Aberdeen Schools Rowing Association recorded wins in the pairs events for men’s and women’s restricted 2 and women’s junior 18 competitors and in women’s restricted 2 double sculls.

Visitors from George Watson’s College (Edinburgh) won men’s junior 18 single sculls (Chris Logan), men’s novice sculls, women’s junior 15 double sculls, women’s restricted 2 single sculls, cadet junior 12 and women’s junior 14 quadruple sculls.

=== back to results page =================================================