Championship of the Dee 2007

The Championship of the Dee is the victor ludorum award for the main rowing event in Aberdeen. It is calculated over both days of the North East Regatta. Each winning finalist in an event earns his (or her) club two points. Runners up (losing finalists) are awarded one point.

Club	Saturday Points	Sunday Points	Total Points	Final Position
Aberdeen University Boat Club (AUBC)	75	74	149	1
Aberdeen Boat Club (ABC)	45	57	102	2
Aberdeen Schools Rowing Association (ASRA)	41	7	48	3
George Heriots Rowing Club	44	0	44	4=
George Watsons College Rowing Club	44	0	44	4=
Robert Gordon University Rowing Club	4	0	4	6=
Inverness Rowing Club	4	0	4	6=

Sadly, we had a very limited entry from outside clubs this year. The NER clashed with the BUSA regatta which would account for the lack of university entries (we were glad that AUBC decided not to attend BUSA!) but the lack of other clubs was disappointing.

We had good support from George Heriots and George Watsons in the junior events on Saturday.

AUBC were leading at the end of Saturday's racing and a string of wins on Sunday ensured a clear victory for them this year. Last year the award was, uniquely, shared between AUBC and ABC after a tie for maximum points.

At the end of Saturday's racing there was a very close battle for 2nd to 5th places with only 4 points separating ABC, Heriots, Watsons and ASRA.

ABC scored more points on Sunday than they managed on Saturday (despite fewer events on offer) to score a solid second place overall.

ASRA were the only junior club represented on Sunday so they pulled ahead into 3rd place overall, having been lying in 5th position on Saturday.

George Heriots and **George Watsons** scored a credible sum of 44 points each on the one day that they competed. Looming exams caused them to head home on Saturday so that athletes could change from physical exertions to intellectual ones.