Championship of the Dee 2005

The Championship of the Dee is the victor ludorum award for the main rowing event in Aberdeen. It is calculated over both days of the North East Regatta. Each winning finalist in an event earns his (or her) club two points. Runners up (losing finalists) are awarded one point.

Club	Saturday Points	Sunday Points	Total Points	Final Position
Aberdeen Boat Club (ABC)	58	116	174	1
Aberdeen Schools Rowing Association (ASRA)	68	4	72	2
Aberdeen University Boat Club (AUBC)	42	29	71	3=
Inverness Rowing Club	43	28	71	3=
George Watsons College Rowing Club	47	0	47	5
George Heriots Rowing Club	44	0	44	6
Robert Gordon University Rowing Club (RGU)	14	4	18	7
Edinburgh University Boat Club (EUBC)	10	0	10	8
St Andrew Boat Club	0	2	2	9

After two years of winning the Championship of the Dee, **ASRA** were knocked into second place by a large entry from **ABC**. The ABC team almost swept the board on Sunday amassing a total of 116 points on that day alone.

ASRA won the sub award amongst the Junior clubs with **George Watsons** in second place and **George Heriots** in third place.

All the junior events take place on Saturday but ASRA's three lonely entrants on Sunday (Michael Chalmers, Jamie Steel and Atholl Wallace) all won points, pushing their club one point ahead of the joint third placed clubs AUBC and Inverness.

AUBC owe most of their points to their womens squad who won R2 Eights, Novice Eights and Novice Fours

Inverness was the largest non-junior entrant at this year's regatta and they won points across a wide spectrum of events – Colin Sinclair earned them one point for a runner-up place in Mens J-16 single sculls whilst his senior and veteran clubmates scored a number of wins over both days of racing.

It was good to see **EUBC** competing at the North East again. A solitary crew of "EUBC Medics" (*do they have different sub-groups for each faculty?*) won Mens R2 Fours on Saturday.