Website address https://cofd.co.uk

Committee of the Dee present the

See Note 8 for Time-only events

Aberdeen Eights Head of the River

On the River Dee

Sunday 5th February 2023

(high tide 1:26pm)

Lowest entry fees for any open HOR in UK!! Entries close 11pm on Sunday 29th January Entry fee for all standard eights: £40 (Time-only events charged at £8 per head, see note 8) Rules, maps, entry forms etc available on website



- (1) R2
- (2) **Junior U-18**
- (3) Womens Junior U-16
- (4) Masters
- (5) Womens Open
- (6) Womens Novice
- **Womens J-15 Coxed Octuple (7)** Sculls
- (8) Time-only Div 1 (see note 8)

Division 2 2:00pm

- (11) **Open**
- (12) Novice
- (13) Womens R2
- (14) Womens Masters
- (15) Womens Junior U-18
- (16) **Junior U-16**
- (17) Mixed Open
- **Open J-15 Coxed Octuple** (18)**Sculls**
- (19) Time-only Div 2 (see note 8)

Aberdeen Eights Head of The River - Notes

Sunday 5th **February 2023** (NB Sunday, because of better tides that day)

Visit our website https://cofd.co.uk
for entry form, maps, course instruction and starting order (after the draw)

- (1) <u>Time Penalties</u>
 - (a) Crews must be clear of the jetty at least 15 minutes before the start of their division.
 - (b) Crews must be downstream of the QE Bridge at least 10 minutes before the start of their division.

Any crew breaching either of these rules will be awarded a 15 second time penalty at the end of the race. Two penalties will apply if both rules are broken. **The launching area is likely to be busy and it is your responsibility to allow for this** (local crews take note!)

- (2) Medals will be awarded in all events (except Time-Only events) which attract more than one entrant. No crew will be awarded more than one prize in any one division.
- (3) The Race will be rowed over a 3000 metre upstream course from Victoria Bridge to Ruthrieston and it will be rowed according to the rules of Scottish Rowing (SR).
- (4) The entry fee for each eight (*except Time Only, see note 8 below*) is **£40**. This includes the SR levy.
- (5) Entries close at 11pm on Sunday 29th January.

Entries should be made on the entry spreadsheet which can be downloaded from our website. Entry fees should preferably be paid by electronic bank transfer (details below) or by cheque (made out to "Committee of the Dee") posted to address below.

Ron Wallace

27 Westbank Park

Oldmeldrum

Inverurie AB51 0DG email: entries@cofd.co.uk

Bank details for electronic payment of entry fees

(please send confirmatory email if you do this)

Account: Committee of the Dee

Sort Code 82-67-06

Account Number 60025793

- (6) The starting order will be drawn up based on previous finish order in the event.
- (7) Masters events will be run on a handicap basis using SR tables. To be eligible for any advantage a masters crews must intimate its status (age) in writing at least 30 minutes before the start of their division (or at time of entry). Otherwise they will be classed as Masters A (no advantage).
- (8) We welcome eights or four-man boats (4-, 4+, 4x, 4x+) to enter the *Time-Only Event* and be timed over the course in either (or both) divisions. No small boats will be allowed. We will charge an administration fee of £8 per head for all crews. Coxes do not need to pay. The starting order will be decided upon by the organising committee. Competitors will be subject to all normal SR rules of racing and any crew which is disqualified will not be advised of its time.

The committee reserve the right to refuse to accept entries if we feel they would compromise the safety or organisation of the event.

- (9) Each club will need to pay a deposit for their pack of bow-slot numbers refundable upon safe return of all numbers. Details will be sent to entering clubs with the draw.
- (10) ABC will be running a tea stall during the event.

Visit https://cofd.co.uk to download the Excel entry form