

Committee of the Dee present the

Aberdeen Eights Heads of the River 5th February 2023

RULES Results will be published on https://cofd.co.uk

1) Time Penalties

- (a) Crews must be clear of the jetty at least 15 minutes before the start of their division.
- (b) Crews must be downstream of the QE Bridge at least 10 minutes before the start of their division.

Any crew breaching either of these rules will be awarded a 15 second time penalty at the end of the race. If both rules are broken, a 30 second time penalty will apply. *The launching area will be busy, and it is your responsibility to allow for this*.

- 2) All clubs must collect their pack of bow slot numbers and disposable paper numbers (to be visible on back of bow when racing) from race control at the ABC Boathouse before racing. Clubs will be charged £5 (each) for any bow-slot number not returned. Any scratchings or crew-changes must be notified in writing to race control.
- (3) Crews will gather in order on the City Bank above the Victoria Bridge with the lowest numbers downstream, nearest the bridge. Boats should normally marshal with bows pointing downstream.
- (4) On the order from the marshal, all crews will strip off and then move down through the Victoria Bridge.
- (5) On command, crews will turn round the moored starting launch by pulling harder on stroke side and holding on bow side. *Make a tight turn rather than spinning*.
- (6) The southernmost (Boathouse) arch of the QE Bridge is out of bounds.
 The northernmost (City) arch of the Railway Bridge is out of bounds.
 The northernmost (City) arch of the King George VI Bridge is out of bounds
- (7) Crews being overtaken must give way to faster crews and move to the outside of bends (but see rule 11)
- (8) At the end of the race, all crews must finish near the South (Boathouse) side of the river. They must then move to the marshalling area on the North (City) side of the river. For safety reasons, crews will only be allowed downstream of the King George VI Bridge when instructed by the marshals. Any crew breaking this rule may be liable for disqualification. All competitors must wait until the last crew has passed upstream before being allowed downstream so take warm clothes with you in the boat.
- (9) Veteran events will be handicapped according to standard tables. Entrants in the *Time-Only* event will be subjected to all normal rules of racing. Any crew which is disqualified will not be informed of their time.
- (10) The race will be held under the rules of Scottish Rowing.
- Time-Only crews must give way to entrants in contested events and must pass them on the outside of bends.

Aberdeen Eights HOR: Sunday 5th February 2023 DIVISION 1 12:30pm

No	Event	Club	Stroke name	Notes		
			•			
73	R2 Eights	ASRA	Pearce	Moved from J-18		
74	R2 Eights	RGUBC/AUBC	Lloyd			
75	Wom Open Eights	ASRA	Hughson			
76	Wom Open Eights	RGUBC/AUBC	Cassell			
77	Wom Open Eights	ABC	A. Bain			
78	Masters Eights	ABC	Arthur	Mas E		
79	Wom Nov Eights	ASRA	Johnston			
80	Wom Nov Eights	ABC	Whittle			
81	Wom J-15 8X+	ASRA	Meakins			
90 second gap						
82	Time Only Div1	RGUBC/AUBC	Brechin	4x		
83	Time Only Div1	ABC	Aljebari	Mens 4+		

Aberdeen Eights HOR: Sunday 5th February 2023 DIVISION 2 2:00pm

No	Event	Club	Stroke name	Notes		
85	Time only Div2	AUBC	Zbikowski	4x		
60 second gap						
86	Open Eights	ABC	Arthur			
87	Wom R2 Eights	ASRA	Hughson	moved from W J-18		
88	Wom R2 Eights	AUBC	Cassell			
89	Wom R2 Eights	ASRA	Johnston	moved from W J-18		
90	Novice Eights	ASRA	Sherwood	moved from J-16		
91	Novice Eights	ABC	McGrath			
92	Wom Masters Eights	ABC	Pirie	Mas D		
93	Wom Masters Eights	ABC	Kelly	Mas D		
94	Mixed Open Eights	RGUBC/AUBC	Troy			
95	Mixed Open Eights	Tay RC	Klinkman			
96	Mixed Open Eights	RGUBC/AUBC	Bates			
97	Mixed Open Eights	RGUBC/AUBC	Griffin			
98	Open J-15 8X+	ASRA	Petty			
99	Open J-15 8X+	ASRA	Meakins			