

Committee of the Dee present the Aberdeen Head of the River

15th & 16th February 2025

RULES

Results will be published on

https://cofd.co.uk



(1) <u>Time Penalties</u>

(a) Crews must be clear of the jetty at least **15 minutes** before the start of their division.
(b) Crews must be downstream of the QE Bridge at least **10 minutes** before the start of their division.

Any crew breaching either of these rules will be awarded a 15 second time penalty at the end of the race. If both rules are broken, a 30 second time penalty will apply. *The launching area will be busy, and it is your responsibility to allow for this*.

- (2) All clubs must collect their pack of bow slot numbers and disposable paper numbers (to be visible on back of bow when racing) from race control at the ABC Boathouse before racing. Clubs will be charged £5 (each) for any bow-slot number not returned. Any scratchings or crew-changes must be notified in writing to race control.
- (3) Crews will gather in order on the City Bank above the Victoria Bridge with *the lowest numbers downstream, nearest the bridge*. Boats should normally marshal with bows pointing downstream.
- (4) On the order from the marshal, all crews will strip off and then move down through the Victoria Bridge. Be ready to race as soon as you start moving.
- (5) On command, crews will turn round the moored starting launch by pulling harder on stroke side and holding on bow side. *Make a tight turn rather than spinning*.
- (6) The southernmost (Boathouse) arch of the QE Bridge is out of bounds. The northernmost (City) arch of the Railway Bridge is out of bounds. The northernmost (City) arch of the King George VI Bridge (KG6) is out of bounds
- (7) Crews being overtaken must give way to faster crews and move to the outside of bends (but see rule 11)
- (8) At the end of the race, all crews must finish near the South (Boathouse) side of the river. They must then move to the marshalling area on the North (City) side of the river. Initially, crews will marshal near the Salmon Fishers' Bothy. They must then obey all instructions from the marshal here. They may later be allowed to move downstream nearer the KG6 bridge but crews must not go downstream of the King George VI Bridge (KG6) until instructed by marshals. Any crew breaking this rule may be liable for disqualification. All competitors must wait until the last crew and safety launch has passed upstream of the KG6 Bridge before being allowed downstream so take warm clothes with you in the boat.
- (9) Masters events will be handicapped according to standard tables. Entrants in the *Time-Only* event will be subjected to all normal rules of racing. Any crew which is disqualified will not be informed of their time.
- (10) The race will be held under the rules of Scottish Rowing.
- (11) *Time-Only* crews must give way to entrants in contested events and must pass them on the outside of bends.

Aberdeen HOR weekend - Saturday 15th February 2025

Division 1 : 2:00pm

Crew No	Event	Club	Stroke Surname	Notes
1	Time-only Div 1 (4x)	ABC	(Hughson)	Quad
2	Mas Eights	Tees RC	(Burns)	Mas D
3	Mas Eights	ABC	(Wallace)	Mas G
4	Wom Open Eights	AUBC	(Cassell)	1
5	Wom Open Eights	ABC	(Carr)	1
6	Open J-16 4x	Geo Watsons	(Burden)	1
7	Open J-16 4x	ASRA	(McMorris)	
8	Open J-16 4x	Geo Heriots	(Ruckley)	
9	Wom J-18 4x	ASRA	(Johnston)	
10	Wom J-18 4x	Geo Heriots	(Polson)	
11	Wom J-18 4x	Geo Watsons	(McLeod)	
12	Wom J-18 4x	TGA	(Orr)	
13	Open J-18 2x	ASRA	(Lefort)	
14	Open J-18 2x	TGA	(Gibbons)	
15	Open J-18 2x	ASRA	(Trythall)	
16	Open J-18 2x	Geo Watsons	(Palmer)	
17	Wom Novice Eights	ASRA	(Parke)	
18	Wom Novice Eights	ABC	(Tinch)	
19	Wom Novice Eights	ABC	(Moffat)	
20	Open J-15 4x+	Geo Heriots	(Cotula)	
21	Open J-15 4x+	TGA	(Hinov)	
22	Open J-15 4x+	Geo Heriots	(Hossack)	
23	Wom J-16 2x	Geo Heriots	(McConnell)	
24	Wom J-16 2x	Geo Heriots	(Griffith)	
25	Wom J-16 2x	TGA	(McLaren)	
26	Wom J-16 2x	ASRA	(Bird)	
27	Wom J-15 2x	Geo Watsons	(Contreras wood)	
28	Wom J-15 2x	Geo Watsons	(Dorward)	
29	Wom J-15 2x	Geo Watsons	(Wilding)	
30	Open J-14 2x	ASRA	(H. Johnston)	
31	Open J-14 2x	ASRA	(Tinch)	
32	Open J-14 2x	Geo Watsons	(king)	
33	Open J-14 2x	ASRA	(E. Johnson)	
34	Open J-14 2x	ASRA	(Anderson)	
35	Wom J-14 4x+	ASRA	(McDowell)	
36	Wom J-14 4x+	ASRA	(MacLennan)	

Division 2 : 3:30pm

Division 2 : 3:30pm						
Crew No	Event	Club	Stroke Surname	Notes		
51	Open Eights	ABC	(Arthur)			
52	Open J-18 4x	TGA	(Gibbons)			
53	Open J-18 4x	Geo Watsons	(Burden)			
54	Open J-18 4x	ASRA	(Lefort)			
55	Mixed Open Eights	AUBC	(Cassell)			
56	Wom Mas Eights	ABC	(McCormick)	Mas A		
57	Wom Mas Eights	ABC	(Campbell)	Mas I		
58	Wom Mas Eights	Tees RC	(Mortimer)	Mas E		
59	Novice Eights	ABC	(Gordon)			
60	Novice Eights	ABC	(Clark)			
	1 minute gap			-		
61	Open J-16 2x	Geo Heriots	(Ruckley)			
62	Open J-16 2x	ASRA	(McMorris)			
63	Open J-16 2x	Geo Heriots	(Birch)			
64	Open J-15 2x	ASRA	(Bain)			
65	Open J-15 2x	TGA	(Hurst)			
66	Open J-15 2x	Geo Watsons	(McDonnell)			
67	Open J-15 2x	TGA	(Vella)			
68	Open J-15 2x	Geo Watsons	(Johnson)			
69	Wom J-16 4x	Geo Heriots	(McConnell)			
70	Wom J-16 4x	ASRA	(Parke)			
71	Wom J-18 2x	Geo Watsons	(Millar)			
72	Wom J-18 2x	Geo Watsons	(L. Contreras-Wood)			
73	Wom J-18 2x	ASRA	(E. Johnston)			
74	Wom J-18 2x	TGA	(Swanson)			
75	Wom J-18 2x	TGA	(Foss)			
76	Wom J-18 2x	Geo Heriots	(Wardrop)			
77	Wom J-18 2x	TGA	(Nickkho-Amiry)			
78	Wom J-18 2x	ASRA	(Thomson)			
79	Wom J-18 2x	TGA	(Cherry)			
80	Wom J-18 2x	ASRA	(Law)			
81	Wom J-15 4x+	ASRA	(Ellis)			
82	Wom J-15 4x+	Geo Watsons	(M. Contreras wood)			
83	Open J-14 4x+	ASRA	(H. Johnston)			
84	Open J-14 4x+	ASRA	(Aitken)			
85	Wom J-14 2x	ASRA	(McDowell)			
86	Wom J-14 2x	Geo Watsons	(Wilding)			
87	Wom J-14 2x	ASRA	(Main)			
88	Wom J-14 2x	ASRA	(MacLennan)			
				-		

TGA = The Glasgow Academy